Skip To Content
Home / News / AMHO welcomes new board members

AMHO welcomes new board members

22nd Nov 2016 AMHO News

​November 22, 2016
Addictions and Mental Health Ontario (AMHO) welcomed the following members to its Board of Directors at the Annual General Meeting November 14, 2016:

  • Heather Kerr, Executive Director, Stonehenge Therapeutic Community: Heather holds a Master’s of Social Work and brings over 25 years of experience in addictions, concurrent disorders and PTSD. She has also worked extensively in provincial and federal corrections.
  • Nicholas Boyce, Director, Ontario HIV and Substance Use Training Program: in his current role, Nick provides harm reduction training and capacity building to health organizations across the province. He holds a B.Sc in Psychology, and was a previous Chair of the community grant review panel for the City of Toronto’s ‘Drug Prevention Community Investment Program.’
  • Natalie Aubin, Administrative Director for the Mental Health and Addictions program, Health Sciences North: Natalie leads an interdisciplinary mental health and addiction team of over 350 staff that span the Sudbury, Manitoulin and East Algoma Districts. She holds a Baccalaureate degree in Psychology, a Master’s degree in Human Development and a Doctorate in Human Studies.
  • Lise Girard, Senior Director of Mental Health and Addictions at Montfort Renaissance and the Interim Executive Director for Billy Buffet House of Welcome: Lise has designed and implemented over the past few years numerous services and programs to address the service gaps and to improve the wellbeing of clients struggling with addictions and mental health problems in the Champlain region, she is also the Chair of the Champlain Addiction Coordinating Body (CACB).
  • Aimee Jaun, Manager of Addiction Services, Thunder Bay Counselling Centre: Aimee comes to the Board with diverse experience spanning public health, management consulting, adult education, human resources and training and development. She plays an active role on the implementation panel of the Thunder Bay Drug Strategy.

“Our new Directors bring a wealth of experience from across the province and across the sector. In addition to welcoming these five new members, Vaughan Dowie, CEO of Pine River Institute, will be stepping into the role of President,” said Gail Czukar, CEO of AMHO.

Speaking about his new role on AMHO’s Board, Vaughan Dowie said he is “honoured to play a role in ensuring that AMHO and its board continues to provide a strong and determined voice for the expertise, challenges, and dedication of its member organizations.”

“We are also pleased that Steve Lurie, Paula Reaume-Zimmer, Holt Sivak, Brad Davey, Carol Lambie, Elizabeth Price, Garry Laws and Robert Moore will continue to provide their expertise and leadership on our Board of Directors,” continued Czukar

“I would like to thank our outgoing President Karim Mamdani, and outgoing Board members Tom Carroll, Alice Bellavance, Karen Parsons and Dennis Long for their leadership and dedication, especially in formulating our Strategic Plan 2016-2019.”


Not A Member?
Let's work together to improve the well-being of Ontarians
Become a Member
Already a Member?
Check out all the latest news, research, education opportunities and other exclusive membership benefits and resources.
Go To Member Resources